Join Now

Awards Night – February 2023

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Awards Night – February 2023

10 Feb 2023 @ 6:00 pm - 10:30 pm

PWI Awards Night – don’t miss your chance to celebrate the rail industry’s finest people, projects and innovations.



10 Feb 2023
6:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Event Category:


IVY Ballroom
320 George Street
Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia
+ Google Map
View Venue Website

Date: Friday 10th February 2023
Venue: Ivy Ballroom (Level 1, 320 George St, Sydney)
Time: 6:00 pm – 10:30 pm
Tickets: On Sale now – Click here

Ticket prices are:  $295 for individual tickets and $2,600 for a Table of 10.

PWI Awards Night – don’t miss your chance to celebrate the rail industry’s finest people, projects and innovations

Awards Night

The night will feature the presentation of the PWI Awards nominations and announce the winners of the:

  • 2022 PWI Ken Erickson Innovation Award

    Award nominations
    WSP – Automated OHW Design Process
    Sydney Trains – Measurement and Inspection Digital Twin WINNER
    Transport for Tomorrow – Mortdale Bogie Exchange System
    FMT – Train Examination System (TRES) Highly Commended
    KPMG – Tramway Defect Detection
    Sydney Trains – Introduction of Platform Gap Filler
    Argonics – Kinematic Clearance Investigations

  • 2022 PWI Welders Award

    Award nominations
    Kym Foster – Rail Con
    Peter Hart – Antic Rail
    Guy Rowles Johnson – Quickway WINNER
    Annunciata O’vaai – MCR
    Adam Davidson – Anric Rail
    Geoff Hopkins – MP Rail
    Keith Moore – Laing O’Rourke
    Albert Va’ai – MCR

  • 2022 PWI Alan Barham Maintenance Award

    Award nominations
    Sydney Trains – South Coast Civil Maintenance Team Highly Commended
    Sydney Trains – Central Coast Civil Maintenance Team
    Sydney Trains – City West Track Maintenance Team WINNER
    UGL Regional Linx – North East Routine Maintenance Team
    ARTC – Taree & Dungog Provisioning Centre

  • 2022 PWI Steve Maxwell Platelaying Awards (Minor, Major and Platelaying)

    Award nominations – Platelaying
    John Holland Group – Gunning Derailment Emergency Repair Works WINNER
    Sydney Trains with Affective Rail – Critical Defect Removal – Enfield Yard

    Award nominations – Major Works Category
    Rhomberg Rail Australia – Construction of the Pacific National Intermodel Facility at St Marys WINNER
    Parramatta Connect (CPB/Downer JV) – Parramatta Light Rail Stage 1 Infrastructure Package
    John Holland Group – Mount Victoria Turnout Installation, Rerailing & Drainage
    Sydney Trains – South Coast Track Upgrade: Omega Tunnels Reconstruction – Kiama to Bomaderry

    Award nominations – Minor Works Category
    John Holland Group – Waterfall to Helensburgh Drainage
    Laing O’Rourke / John Holland Group (JHLOR Joint Venture) – Installation of 805/806/807/808 Crossover – Sydenham Station Junction Works WINNER
    John Holland Group – Maitland 402AB and 403B Program of Works
    ARTC – Interstate North Coast Rail Upgrade – Kendall NSW Highly Commended
    Sydney Trains – Chullora New Welders Siding Reconstruction

  • 2022 PWI Design Awards (Two Categories)

    Award nominations – Major – Design Fee’s >$1m
    GHD and Aurecon Design Joint Venture – Sydney Metro – Central Station WINNER
    Rhomberg SMEC – Coalcliff Tunnel Track Reconstruction – Design and Constructability
    GHD and Aurecon Design Joint Venture Sydney Metro – Sydenham Station and Junction works
    AECOM – 700 Bridges Inspection

    Award nominations – Minor- Design Fee’s <$1m
    GHD – Wheel Squeal North Shore Line, Sydney Highly Commended
    Lycopodium – 25 TAL Upgrade: Scoping, Planning, and Designing for Narrabri to Walgett and Stockinbingal to Griffith


  • 2022 PWI Electrical Safety and Quality Award

    Award nominations
    Emily Williams  – TfNSW – The Electrical Learning Centre (Chullora) WINNER
    Tom Hawkins  – WSP – Innovation in the design of overhead wiring structures
    Henry Zhang  – Next Rail (john Holland, TfNSW and Jacobs)  –  1500V DC Feeders and Overhead Wiring (OHW) Upgrade Project


  • 2022 PWI Young Achiever Award

    Congratulations to Chris Wills from John Holland Group, who won the 2022 PWI Young Achiever Award.
    This award was announced at the 2022 Australasian Rail Industry Awards dinner held in Melbourne in September 2022



The event will include a 3-course dinner, drinks, and a chance to network with your colleagues.

We hope you can join us.
** Corporate Members can access their discounted ticket allocation by entering their Corporate ID (this is the 4-digit number on your website login e.g for Corp1234, use the code 1234 only). You MUST be a financial corporate member to get access to your discount. If you have recently updated your membership, it may take a couple of days before your ticket is available, email for assistance.




To attend PWI NSW functions you must be a current financial member or corporate representative or guest. Please refer to the membership page for all memberships including corporate membership.

If you are not currently a member of PWI NSW you can join via our Membership page.  Upon joining you will receive a Login ID and password to register for events.

For any queries please contact